

Rivanna River Basin Commission Board Meeting Minutes August 15th, 2022

Rivanna River Basin Commission	Attendance	
Ann Mallek, Chair, Albemarle BOS	X	
Bea Lapisto-Kirtley, Albemarle BOS	X	
Lonnie Murray, Appointed Citizen		
Lloyd Snook, Charlottesville City Council	X	
Michael Payne, Charlottesville City Council		
Jason Halbert, Appointed Citizen		
Mozell Booker, Fluvanna County BOS	X	
Tony O'Brien, Fluvanna County BOS	X	
Marvin Moss, Appointed Citizen		
Dale Herring, Greene County BOS	X	
Abbey Heflin, Greene County BOS		
Alex Vidales, Appointed Citizen	X	
Steve Morris, Culpeper SWCD	X	
Angus Murdoch, TJSWCD	X	
Staff/Public		
Sandy Shackleford, TJPDC	X	
lsabella O'Brien, TJPDC	X	
Brandon Boccher, TJPDC	X	

Note: The City of Charlottesville has declared a local state of emergency due to the COVID-19 pandemic and the nature of this declared emergency makes it impracticable or unsafe for the Thomas Jefferson Planning District Commission to assemble in an individual location in the city. This meeting was held utilizing electronic virtual communication with the Microsoft Teams software application, and in accordance with virtual meeting provisions contained in Code of Virginia § <u>2.2-3708.2</u>. A recording of the meeting was made available to the public at <u>www.rivannariverbasin.org</u>.

Materials in Packet: May 6th, 2022 Meeting Minutes, August 15th Agenda, RRBC Election Bylaws, Draft FY 23-27 Contract, Draft FY 23-27 Strategic Work Plan, Description of Speakers, Details, and Tentative Agenda for RRBC Conference

1. CALL TO ORDER:

The Rivanna River Basin Commission Chair, Ann Mallek, presided and called the meeting to order at 11:00 AM.

2. ATTENDANCE AND NOTICE OF ELECTRONIC MEETING

Isabella O'Brien read the Notice of Electronic Meeting, took attendance, and certified that a quorum was present.

3. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Chair Ann Mallek requested a motion to approve the meeting minutes. A motion was carried by Dale Herring and seconded by Steve Morris. A vote was held and passed unanimously.

4. COMMENTS FROM THE PUBLIC



Chair Ann Mallek provided a moment for comments from the public. No public comments were provided.

5. APPROVAL OF MAY 6TH MINUTES

Dale Herring moved to accept the meeting minutes as presented. Steve Morris seconded the motion. A vote was held and passed unanimously.

6. ELECTION OF OFFICERS

Isabella O'Brien reviewed the RRBC legislation detailing elections. There were no volunteers or nominations for the Treasurer role. Ann Mallek requested that TJPDC staff reach out to Lonnie Murray to inquire on if he was interested in continuing his role as treasurer given his absence at the August Meeting. The RRBC moved onto election of Chair. Tony O'Brien nominated Ann Mallek and Bea Lapisto-Kirtley seconded the motion. A vote was held and passed unanimously. After Ann was named chair, the election moved onto a vote on the Vice Chair. Tony O'Brien nominated Dale Herring. Bea Lapisto Kirtley seconded that motion. A vote was held and passed unanimously, and Dale Herring was named Vice Chair for the RRBC.

7. PRESENTATION OF TJPDC | RRBC FY23 – FY27 CONTRACT AND REVIEW OF 5 YEAR STRATEGIC WORK PLAN.

Isabella O'Brien presented the proposed 5 year contract and strategic plan to the RRBC for discussion and approval. Bea Lapisto-Kirtley motioned to approve the 5-year contract and Dale seconded the motion. A vote was held on the contract renewal and passed unanimously. Dale Herring motioned to approve the 5 Year Strategic Work Plan and Ann Mallek seconded the motion. A vote was held and passed unanimously.

8. STAFF UPDATES

Staff provided an overview of the plan for the RRBC Conference in September regarding solar facilities and implementation. Staff also presented a template that will be utilized on a yearly basis to report to the Board on key tasks, deliverables, and spending.

9. Adjourn

The board meeting adjourned at 12:10 PM.