Click here for calendar

Rivanna River
Renaissance Conference

September 28, 2018
10:00 a.m.
Albemarle County Office Building
401 McIntire Rd.

Organizational Structure of the Rivanna River Basin Commission

As defined by its statute, the Commission is comprised of two elected officials from each of the participating jurisdictions, one citizen appointee from each of the jurisdictions, and one representative each from the Culpeper and Thomas Jefferson Soil and Water Conservation Districts.

Headwaters of the Rivanna River: Moormans River above Sugar Hollow Reservoir

Headwaters of the Rivanna River:
Moormans River above Sugar Hollow Reservoir

The Commission is by statute an "independent local entity without political subdivision," and as such is a public body bound to the laws of Virginia like other public bodies such as the Board of Supervisors and other Commissions, including the Virginia Freedom of Information Act, Conflict of Interest Act, and Public Procurement Policy.

The Commission is supported by staff (Executive Director, Program Manager, Program Assistant/GIS Specialist, and volunteers) and a Technical Advisory Committee.

Initial funding for the Rivanna River Basin Commission comes from a grant from the Nature Conservancy in Virginia that represents the generous contributions of private donors committed specifically to helping launch the River Basin Commission. Additional funding for specific projects of the Commission is obtained through state and federal grants. As an entity of local government, the Commission may receive funding and contributions from public and private sources.


The Rivanna River Basin Commission provides guidance for the stewardship of water and natural resources of the Rivanna River Basin and promotes activities by local, state, and federal governments, and by individuals, that foster resource stewardship for the environmental and economic health of the Basin.

Localities Greene Map Albemarle Map Charlottesville Map Fluvanna Map

The Commission has representatives from these jurisdictions and organizations.

Click below for more information about our member partners:

City of Charlottesville

Albemarle County

Fluvanna County

Greene County

Culpeper SWCD

Thomas Jefferson SWCD