Click here for calendar

Commission Meeting

June 6, 2017
11:30 -12:30 pm
Water Street Center
407 E. Water St.


The Executive Committee consists of the Commission Chair and Vice-chair and treasurer. The Chair of the Commission is also the Chair of the Executive Committee. The Executive Committee meets as needed between the quarterly Commission meetings.

2015 Executive Committee
Ann Mallek
Chair of the RRBC
Albemarle County
Jim Frydl
Vice Chair of the RRBC
Greene County
Lonnie Murray
Treasurer of the RRBC
Thomas Jefferson SWCD
Dede Smith City of Charlottesville
Mozell Booker Fluvanna County

The Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) of the RRBC provides technical input and guidance to the Commission. The RRBC TAC consists of two sub-committees: the Advisory Committee and the Technical Working Group. The Advisory Committee consists of staff members from the member jurisdictions, district managers from Thomas Jefferson and Culpeper Soil and Water Conservation Districts, and a representative from UVa Environmental Compliance Division.

The Technical Working Group consists of professionals from local and regional universities, non-profits, and agencies with expertise in fluvial processes, hydrology, water quality, natural resources, geomorphology, water resource modeling, environmental planning, and stormwater management.

TAC members are appointed by the Commission and serve two-year terms that may be renewed. The Advisory Committee meets every other month and the full Technical Advisory Committee meets three times a year, including one annual combined RRBC and TAC meeting.

2015 Technical Advisory Committe
Sam Austin, Hydrologist USGS Virginia Water Science Center
Alyson Sappington, District Manager Thomas Jefferson SWCD
Greg Harper, PE, Water Resources Manager Albemarle County
Scott Clark, Rural Planner Albemarle County
Missy Creasy, Planning Manager Charlottesville
Kristel Riddervold, Environmental Administrator Charlottesville
Steve Tugwell, Senior Planner Fluvanna County
Roger Black, E&S Site Inspector Fluvanna County
Stephanie Golon, County Planner Greene County
Dan Ratzlaff, E&S Administrator Greene County
Greg Wichelns, District Manager Culpeper SWCD
Wood Hudson, Senior Environmental Planner Thomas Jefferson Planning District Commission
Andrea Terry, Water Resources Manager Rivanna Water & Sewer Authority
Louise Finger, Stream Restoration Biologist VA Dept. of Game and Inland Fisheries
Dave Hirschman, Program Director Center for Watershed Protection
John Murphy, Science Advisor StreamWatch
Jean Lorber, Land Protection Specialist The Nature Conservancy in Virginia
Todd Scanlon, PhD, Environmental Scientist UVa, Environmental Sciences
Jeff Sitler, CPG, Hydrogeologist UVA, Environmental Compliance


The Rivanna River Basin Commission provides guidance for the stewardship of water and natural resources of the Rivanna River Basin and promotes activities by local, state, and federal governments, and by individuals, that foster resource stewardship for the environmental and economic health of the Basin.

Localities Greene Map Albemarle Map Charlottesville Map Fluvanna Map

The Commission has representatives from these jurisdictions and organizations.

Click below for more information about our member partners:

City of Charlottesville

Albemarle County

Fluvanna County

Greene County

Culpeper SWCD

Thomas Jefferson SWCD