Click here for calendar

Rivanna River
Renaissance Conference

September 28, 2018
10:00 a.m.
Albemarle County Office Building
401 McIntire Rd.

Piedmont Regional Pilot Project for the Chesapeake Bay TMDL

The Commission has been coordinating the Piedmont Regional Pilot Project (PRPP) for the Chesapeake Bay TMDL to develop a process for informing and engaging local governments and other stakeholders in our region. The Piedmont Regional Pilot Project (formerly the Rivanna Regional Pilot Project) Steering Committee includes Thomas Jefferson PDC, Thomas Jefferson and Culpeper SWCDs, Rivanna River Basin Commission, The Nature Conservancy in Virginia, three members of the Virginia Stakeholders Advisory Group for the Bay TMDL, and two elected officials. Tetra Tech, Inc., provided technical support by interpreting the Chesapeake Bay model in the context of the project region. The Institute for Environmental Negotiation (IEN) provided meeting facilitation and meeting support services. The Rivanna River Basin Commission provided overall coordination and served as the liaison to the EPA and Virginia DCR.

The purpose of the pilot project was to focus on identifying strategies for local engagement during Phase II WIP development. Recognizing that local governments were in many ways the most affected stakeholder group, through requirements to implement pollution reduction strategies, and by being the elected representatives of the various affected constituents, the PRPP commenced its outreach with staff members of local governments in the region, which corresponds to Planning District-10.

Interim report, September 2, 2010 (click here)
Principal Staff Committee presentation, October 20, 2010 (click here)
Chesapeake Bay Watershed Forum presentation, November 13, 2010 (click here)
Final Report (full), January 26, 2011 (click here)
Final Report (Executive Summary), January 26, 2011 (click here)
Combined Stakeholder Meeting Summary, February 16, 2011 (click here)

Focus Groups
The PRPP hosted five focus groups, defining stakeholders as those who would be most affected by the Bay TMDL: 1) staff from local juristictions, 2) local elected officials, 3) the agriculture sector, 4) builders/developers, and 5) permitted dischargers. Each meeting provided stakeholders with background information about TMDLs (generally) and the development of the Bay TMDL. Participants were then invited to express their concerns, to provide feedback on resource needs, and to suggest actions that would achieve the required pollution reductions. These meetings provided timely and accurate information about the Bay TMDL and solicited constructive ideas and strategies for implementing the TMDL at the local level. Input from these focus groups was presented to each of the governing bodies of Greene, Albemarle, Fluvanna, Nelson and Louisa counties and the City of Charlottesville. The pilot project concluded in February 2011 with one last "combined" focus group made up from representative stakeholders who expressed an interest to "hear from the other side." Please click here to see the summary of this combined focus group held on February 16, 2011.

Please click on the name of the group below to see the presentation:
July 21, 2010 -- Local Government Staff
August 31, 2010 -- Agriculture/Forestry
September 8, 2010 -- Local Elected Officials
October 6, 2010 -- Builders/Developers
October 18, 2010 -- Permitted Dischargers

Steering Committee
The Steering Committee coalesced after the Rivanna River Basin Commission (RRBC) hosted meetings with Virginia state agency representatives and EPA in December 2009 and January 2010. Steering Committee members represent local governments (through the Thomas Jefferson PDC, RRBC, CBP's Local Government Advisory Committee); the Virginia Stakeholder Advisory Group; and the two SWCDs that overlap the project area (Culpeper and Thomas Jefferson SWCD). To assure local government perspective, we included two Supervisors from the region. The Steering Committee is:

Connie Brennan  --  Nelson County Board of Supervisors
Bill Kittrell  --  The Nature Conservancy
Leslie Middleton*  --  Rivanna River Basin Commission
Rick Parrish*  --  Southern Environmental Law Center
Alyson Sappington  --  Thomas Jefferson SWCD
Carl Schmitt  --  Greene County Board of Supervisors
Sally Thomas*  --  CBP LGAC
Steve Williams  --  Thomas Jefferson PDC
Greg Wichelns  --  Culpeper SWCD

* Virginia SAG members

To direct a question or comment to the entire Steering Committee, please click here.  

For further information about the Pilot Project, please contact Leslie Middleton.


The Rivanna River Basin Commission provides guidance for the stewardship of water and natural resources of the Rivanna River Basin and promotes activities by local, state, and federal governments, and by individuals, that foster resource stewardship for the environmental and economic health of the Basin.

Localities Greene Map Albemarle Map Charlottesville Map Fluvanna Map

The Commission has representatives from these jurisdictions and organizations.

Click below for more information about our member partners:

City of Charlottesville

Albemarle County

Fluvanna County

Greene County

Culpeper SWCD

Thomas Jefferson SWCD